UWE Bristol and NFTS Projects Win RTS Student Awards for Animation

The Royal Television Society (RTS), the UK’s premier forum for television and related media, announced the winners of the national award RTS Student Television Awards 2021, sponsored by Kinetic Content. The winners were crowned at a virtual ceremony held this afternoon on the RTS website, hosted by award-winning broadcast presenter and radio host Vick Hope.

For 2021, the National Film and Television School received the most wins among the 17 nominated UK institutions, winning seven awards (including postgraduate animation), followed by the University of Salford with three. The first Young Filmmaker Award went to Max Tobin, Ed Whyte, Joe Luk, Oli Thomas and Almir Datoo for their live drama. I will despise you. The jury described the film as impressive and ambitious, with the script being a triumph.

The awards celebrate the best audiovisual work created by students across the UK at undergraduate and postgraduate level. This year, students submitted an original film of their creation lasting up to 30 minutes, for categories such as Animation, Scripted, Unscripted for Undergraduates and Animation, Scripted, Unscripted, News, Entertainment and natural history for postgraduate students. Awards were also presented today for the craft skills of undergraduate and postgraduate applicants, including camera work, editing, production design, sound and writing.

Siobhan Greene, Managing Director of 110% Content and Chair of the RTS Student Television Awards, said: “This year juries have had tough decisions to make, narrowing down a huge selection of entries from across the UK; all the more impressive given that many have been produced under constrained conditions due to COVID. It is with a real sense of pride that we recognize and celebrate the talent arriving in the industry this afternoon. Congratulations to all the winners. “

My Favorite Hill – Chris Childs (UWE Bristol)

Undergraduate animation:

WINNER: My favorite hill – Chris Childs (UWE Bristol)

Jury statement: This film was a comedic success with all of the jury members. The dialogue was hilariously delivered and engineered by Chris, creating a lot of laughs. All in all, an interesting and enjoyable commentary on professional life, as well as a nice tribute. Trailer


  • Hoarse – Darragh Scott (National Film School, IADT)
  • Last week – Jamie Walsh (University of Central Lancashire)
  • Bewitched – Amelia Parker, Beth Ryan and team (Arts University Bournemouth)
The song of a lost boy

Song of a Lost Boy – Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein, Emma Langguth and Team (National School of Film and Television)

Postgraduate animation

WINNER: The song of a lost boy – Daniel Quirke, Jamie MacDonald, Brid Arnstein, Emma Langguth and Team (National School of Film and Television)

Jury Statement: The jury really enjoyed this film with its unique style and message of acceptance told in such an interesting and original way. It was evident that the design and materials chosen had been carefully considered, with excellent choices from start to finish. Trailer


  • Between us – Niancao Yang, Lite Zhu, Tim Steemson and Yali Shen (LCC) (University of the Arts London)
  • Something borrowed – Micky Wozny, Nathan Hardisty, Andrew St Maur, Twan Peeters and Gabe Robertson (National School of Film and Television)
  • Fire next time – Renaldho Pelle, Kerry Jade Kolbe, Yangling Wang, Fabio Mota, Robin Whalley and Team (National School of Film and Television)

For more information, please visit: https://rts.org.uk/award/rts-student-television-awards-2021.

Previous Marcia Gay Harden, Kyle MacLachlan and Roy Wood Jr. join the cast - Deadline
Next 20 TV shows and movies to keep kids busy for the summer

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.