MLB honors Shohei Ohtani with historic Commissioner’s Award of Excellence – CBS Los Angeles

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON – OCTOBER 03: Shohei Ohtani # 17 of the Los Angeles Angels watches his home run against the Seattle Mariners in the first inning at T-Mobile Park on October 03, 2021 in Seattle, Washington. (Photo by Steph Chambers / Getty Images)

ANAHEIM (CBSLA) – Shohei Ohtani added another achievement to his already prolific list of accolades and accolades, when he received the Commissioner’s Historic Excellence Award on Tuesday ahead of the World Series opener in Houston.

READ MORE: Orange County parents protest vaccination warrants at school board meeting

Ohtani is only the 16th player to receive the honor, the latest being both Derek Jeter and Vin Scully in 2014. The award was established in 1998, when then-commissioner Bud Selig bestowed it. to Mark McGwire and Sammy Sosa for their legendary home run. hunt.

He received the award based on his unprecedented performance as a two-way player during the 2021 season, in which Ohtani reached 0.257 with 46 home runs and 100 RBIs at home plate, and threw 130, 1 sleeve at 9-2 height. record with 156 strikeouts and a 3.18 ERA. He is also the first player to be elected to the All-Star Game as a hitter and pitcher.

As usual, Ohtani was humble about his achievement. The Los Angeles Times reports that he said, “This award isn’t given out every year, so I know how special it is… I’m not quite sure I really deserve it, but since Mr. Manfred go give it to me. , I will accept it.

He is the second Japanese-born award recipient (Ichiro being the first) and the fourth foreign-born player to receive the honor.

READ MORE: Huntington Beach resident arrested for involvement in Capitol Riots

ANAHEIM, CA – SEPTEMBER 19: Shohei Ohtani # 17 of the Los Angeles Angels throws in the third inning of the game against the Oakland Athletics at Angel Stadium Anaheim on September 19, 2021 in Anaheim, California. (Photo by Jayne Kamin-Oncea / Getty Images)

This was the first time Manfred has awarded the award since taking office as Commissioner in 2015. The other recipients of the award are:

  • Mark McGwire (1998)
  • Sammy Sosa (1998)
  • the Seattle Mariners (2001)
  • Cal Ripken, Jr. (2001)
  • Tony Gwynn (2001)
  • Barry Bonds (2002)
  • Rickey Henderson (2002)
  • Roger Clemens (2004)
  • Ichiro Suzuki (2005)
  • Roberto Clemente (the only posthumous recipient, 2006)
  • Rachel Robinson (wife of Jackie Robinson, 2007)
  • Ken Griffey, Jr. (2011)
  • Mariano Rivera (2013)
  • Derek Jeter (2014)
  • Scully Wine (2014)

A list of other accomplishments that Ohtani has achieved so far in his young career include: 2019 AL Rookie of the Year, 2021 All-Star, 2016 Japanese Series Champion, five-time Nippon Professional Baseball League All-Star, 2016 Pacific League MVP, twice the Pacific League’s top nine pitchers, the nine best hitters nominated and twice the Japanese Professional Sports Grand Prize – the most prestigious award that can be given to any of the best players or teams in the Japan.

Ohtani is up for several awards this season, including MVP, Cy Young, AL Silver Slugger for Designated Hitter and both Player of the Year and Outstanding AL in the Player’s Choice Awards.

NO MORE NEWS: Nadia Chung, resident of La Cañada, named queen of roses in 2022

As an added bonus, Ohtani was able to attend Game 1 of the World Series as a spectator, as the Atlanta Braves took a 1-0 lead in the series after their 6-2 win over the Houston Astros.

Previous The Unique Challenge Superman: The Animated Series Cured Was No Problem On Batman, Producer Says
Next One Piece Episode 997: Akazaya's Samurai Arrives After 20 Years for Revenge

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.