“Bob Spit”, “A Bite of Bone”, “Night Bus” win top prizes at Ottawa Animation Fest

The Ottawa International Animation Festival (FAOI) unveiled the winners at its 45th anniversary edition. The big winners were: Bob Spit – We don’t like people (directed by Cesar Cabral) which won the Grand Prix for animated feature film; Honekami (A bite of bones, directed by Honami Yano), winner of the Grand Prix for animated short film; and Night bus (directed by Joe Hsieh), winning the audience award voted by festival-goers.

Bob Spit – We don’t like people brings viewers into the mind of cartoonist Angeli and into the post-apocalyptic world of Bob Spit.

Honekami is an animated work reflecting a young girl’s relationship with her father at her funeral.

And Night bus is an animated short film that takes audiences on a mad rush of intrigue and revenge.

Hosted online, this year’s festival received 2,528 admissions from 38 different countries around the world. The winners were chosen from the 107 animation works selected for the official competition.

Canadian stop-motion animation, The Shaman Apprentice (Zacharias Kunuk), was also a big winner, winning the Canadian Film Institute (CFI) award for best Canadian animation as well as the award for best short narrative film.

Here’s a full rundown of the winners:

Grand Prize for Animated Short Film
Winner: Honekami (A Bite of Bone) | Honami Yano | Japan
Jury comment: This film was produced using traditional techniques. But he has the power to lead us in a new direction. In an image made up of dots, we freely cross places and memories as if we were all small dots. After looking at the work, we understand why the director used these techniques. And that leaves a long lingering impression.

Grand Prize for Animated Feature Film
Winner: Bob Spit – We don’t like people | Cesar Cabral | Brazil
Special mention: Elulu | Gabriel Verdugo Soto | Chile
Jury comment: For its mix of general public and DIY, documentary and fiction, the ingenious and visually appealing story of an artist and his universe, the Grand Prix is ​​awarded to Bob Spit – We don’t like people by Cesar Cabral, Brazil.

Public Prize
Winner: Night bus | Joe Hsieh | Taiwan

Canadian Film Institute (CFI) Award for Best Canadian Animation
Winner: The Shaman Apprentice | Zacharie Kunuk | Canada
Special mention: Meneath: the island of hidden ethics | Terril Calder | Canada

Vimeo Staff Choice Award
Winner: One kilometer walk (Ten, twenty, thirty, forty, fifty miles a day) | Mathieu Georis | Belgium

Animated Short Film Competition – Category Prize

Best non-narrative
Winner: Anxious body | Yoriko Mizushiri | France and Japan
Jury comment: Without visual texture, the film touches our body through its visceral fusion of subconscious, unconscious and conscious states of mind and body.

Best story
Winner: The Shaman Apprentice | Zacharie Kunuk | Canada
Jury comment: The Shaman Apprentice is a masterful job of storytelling and sharing traditional Inuit knowledge using immaculately detailed sets, costumes, props and puppets and beautifully told with precision and care. Using the arctic landscape as a metaphor for the spiritual world, Zacharias Kunuk invites us to learn more about Inuit shamanism and spirituality, a part of Inuit culture that has been hidden for so long by colonialism. Like the shaman, Kunuk conveys his knowledge and teachings through this film, and it is as if he turns to us at the end and asks us, “What have we learned?

Winner: Johnny Flynn and Robert Macfarlane ‘Ten Degrees of Strange’ | Lynn Tomlinson | United States and United Kingdom

Bento Box Award for the best student animation
Winner: Space | Zhong Xian | UK
Jury comment: Space takes us through the cyclical nature of love with high angle shots, original and playful transitions, simple but bold and expressive style, and shows us that love, like animation, can be a cycle that repeats .

Young Audience Animation Competition (Preschool)
Winner: Flat | Oana Lacroix | Switzerland
Special mention 1: Königiri-Kun concert | Mari Miyazawa | Japan
Special mention 2: S is for spiders | Warren Brown | Canada
Special mention 3: Ink | Erik Verkerk & Joost van den Bosch | The Netherlands

Young Audience Animation Competition (6-12 years old)
Winner: You sold my rolls (Did you sell my roller skates?) | Margaux Cazal, Jeanne Hammel, Louis Holmes, Sandy Lachkar, Agathe Leroux & L̩a Rey РMauzaize | France
Special mention: Only one child | Simone Giampaolo | Switzerland

Animated series contest
Winner: One day at a time ‘The political episode’ | MR Horhager & Phill Lewis | United States and Canada

Virtual reality competition
Winner: Spirit strands | Adrien Meyer | Germany

Canadian student competition
Winner: Don’t think about her | Liza Desya | Sheridan College
Special mention 1: Fleeting: here and there | Gilnaz Arzpeyma | Concordia University
Special mention 2: The goat | Alexandra Ouchev | Dawson College

Animated Short Film Competition – Craft Awards

Best scenario
Winner: All these sensations in my stomach | Marko Djeska | Croatia and Portugal

Better design
Winner: Abandoned village | Mariam Kapanadze | Georgia

Best animation technique
Winner: Steak House | pela adež | Slovenia, Germany and France

Better sound design
Winner: A family that steals dogs | John C. Kelley | United States

Previous Unveiling the legend that is Krishna Sobti
Next Sylvanian Families Animal Doll Series Capturing the Hearts of Adults in Japan and Abroad

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.